Home How to How to stop saving WhatsApp photos in the gallery

How to stop saving WhatsApp photos in the gallery

You can stop saving WhatsApp photos in the gallery, either in general or just from specific conversations in the messenger

When you receive a media file in messenger conversations, WhatsApp videos and photos are saved in your smartphone gallery automatically. This setting is enabled by default, but you can turn it off so you don’t fill your phone’s camera roll with unwanted images. It is noteworthy that the application is only valid for media sent after disabling the function. Previously received files should be manually deleted directly from the gallery.

You can stop saving WhatsApp photos to the gallery in general, or apply this setting to specific groups and conversations. See step-by-step smartphones with Android and iPhone (iOS).

iPhone (iOS)

  1. Open the WhatsApp app;
  2. Tap “Settings” and then “Conversations”;
  3. Turn off the “Save to camera roll” option.
How to stop saving all media in the gallery iPhone

Android

  1. Open the WhatsApp app;
  2. Tap “More options” (three-point menu);
  3. Tap “Settings” and then “Conversations”;
  4. Turn off Media Visibility.

How to stop saving photos from a WhatsApp conversation

If you don’t want to turn off automatic photo save in general, you can apply this setting to specific individual groups or conversations.

iPhone (iOS)

  1. Open the WhatsApp app;
  2. Open the individual or group conversation;
  3. Tap the name of the contact or group;
  4. Tap “Save to camera roll”;
  5. Tap “Never.”

This setting is also useful for enabling automatic save of media received only by a specific contact, while other conversations and groups remain with the function turned off. If that’s the intention, choose the “always” option, to automatically save videos and photos uploaded only through a particular conversation.

Android

  1. Open the WhatsApp app;
  2. Open an individual or group conversation;
  3. Tap “More options” (Three-point menu);
  4. Tap the name of the contact or group;
  5. Tap “Media Visibility” and then “No”;
  6. Tap “Ok” to confirm.

Source(s): WhatsApp¹ and WhatsApp²

Read: How to Save WhatsApp Status Using Xender for iPhone and Android Users.

Avatar
George Philiphttps://www.betechwise.com
George is a technology content writer with few years of experience. Specialized in mobile devices, personal computers and consumer technology, as well as software and applications. He explains all technological concepts so that users with less knowledge can understand it. If not writing, you may find him engrossed playing action games on his smartphone. Just so you know, he loves Xiaomi products alot. You may contact him via his email - [email protected]

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Most Popular

RECENT POST